LET'S GET STARTED
Search for schools near you to match your interests
Cost is just one factor that students weight before pursuing their waxing license. If you are wondering how to get a waxing license, how much you’ll have to pay, and how long it will take, you’re not alone. That’s why we created this handy article to get you started in your research.
In some states, waxing is covered under the cosmetology license or the esthetics license. It can take between 1,000 and 2,000 training hours to become a licensed cosmetologist, and it can take between 500 and 1,500 hours to become a licensed esthetician, depending on the state. Of course, the number of required hours and classes can change, along with licensing laws, at any time. That’s why you need to speak with beauty school advisers about waxing training programs.
Some states, such as New York and Virginia have their own licensing laws regarding waxing. However, this is more the exception than the rule for students who want to work as waxing technicians. The following information is meant to help you understand what to expect if you want to purse a waxing career in New York or Virginia. If you live in those states, you should still consider other types of cosmetology training. By pursuing broader programs, you can enhance your skillset and offer more salon services to clients. This can also make you more attractive to potential employers. Salon owners may need someone who can perform waxing, as well as nail and makeup or hair services. With the right training, you can open up several doors of opportunity in the world of beauty.
Are you asking, “Where can I find waxing training near me?” If you’re ready to move forward and earn your waxing certification or esthetician license, use our simple school search resources to get started now!
How much do waxing training courses cost?
The cost of going to waxing school can depend on the type of program that you need or choose to earn your license. If your state only requires waxing training, you can earn your certificate without having to train for hundreds of hours in a cosmetology or esthetician program. Waxing programs may only have about a hundred or so hours of training, while a cosmetology program could reach 2,000 hours. This means you’ll spend a lot less, in most cases, through a program that only focuses on waxing. A cosmetology program that includes hair, skin and nail training can cost as little as a few thousand dollars, or much more, if you attend an elite school with extensive training programs.
On the other hand, training that focuses on waxing only can be completed in as little as a few weeks. Some waxing training programs are designed for estheticians who want additional training in certain waxing techniques. To get the best idea about cost, contact all your waxing school options and compare the cost – and waxing courses. Not all programs are the same, and students have different goals. Be sure you enroll in a program that encompasses all the training you desire.
Waxing License in New York
If you want to become a wax technician in New York, you must obtain a waxing license through the states Division of Licensing Services. You must be at least 17 years old, and you must complete a 75-hour, New York State approved course of study, an equivalent level of schooling from another state or country, or five years of legal waxing experience outside New York.
Approved waxing training programs in New York can cost anywhere from $250 to $2,000 for registration, tuition, and education materials. Some schools offer financial assistance to qualified students.
After you complete your training, you need to pass the New York State written examination to get a waxing license in New York. Those with five years of legal experience and those who previously held a waxing license in New York State are not required to take the exam.
The initial application fee for a waxing license is $20, and the fee for the written exam is $15. The term of licensure is two years; you must pay $20 for renewal.
You may also apply and pay $10 to get a six-month temporary waxing license if you want to work while you complete the exam process. Only those applying based on New York State or out-of-state education are eligible to receive a temporary waxing license.
Waxing License in Virginia
If you are a licensed cosmetologist in Virginia, or if you have completed 115 hours of waxing training or an equivalent amount of waxing experience, you may take the exams to get a waxing license in Virginia.
Approved waxing training programs in Virginia may cost anywhere from $1,000 to $3,000 for registration, tuition, and supplies; financial aid may be available.
When you complete your waxing training, you can apply to take the state licensing exams. The practical exam costs $80 and the theory exam costs $75. You can also become a wax technician instructor; the instructor exam fee is $75.
When you apply for initial licensure, you can also apply for a temporary waxing license to work under the supervision of a currently licensed wax technician or cosmetologist in Virginia. There is no fee for a temporary waxing license, which is effective for 45 days following your examination date.
Once you pass the exams, you must submit a $55 fee in order to receive your waxing license in Virginia. You must also pay $55 every two years to renew your license.
No matter where you live, you must obtain either a waxing license, esthetician license, or cosmetology license in order to become a waxing technician. Your licensing costs will depend on the length of training and specific exam and application fees required by your state.
If you want to know how to become a waxing technician in your state, contact the beauty schools in your area today to get going!